Return to Headlines

D2 Transportation Director named CSPTA Admin of the Year

District Two recently brought home two impressive pieces of hardware from the 2018 Transportation Summit hosted by the Colorado State Pupil Transportation Association.

Director of Transportation David Hartzell was named the CSPTA Administrator of the Year.

Hartzell has served as Director of Transportation since 2012 and oversees a staff of 85 people with 65 buses.

He previously was recognized in 2015 for his support to the Pikes Peak region as chairperson for the Pikes Peak Consortium, comprised of all transportation directors, managers, and supervisors in southern Colorado.

Two Transportation team members also scored well in the Bus Roadeo on June 12 as part of the Summit.

Driver Jo Ann Sanchez and paraprofessional Ree Bishop teamed up to take 2nd place in the state for the Special Education division of the Roadeo.

That is the highest finish any team from District Two has ever attained in the competition.

Sanchez and Bishop competed against teams from around the state in 14 driving and hands-on skills events, along with a 50-question written test.

The team has competed in previous years and spent several hours preparing for this year's competition.

Hartzell (back left) and Bishop and Sanchez (front right, holding award) with the D2 Transportation team