Return to Headlines

Five schools recognized by CDE for recent classroom success

The Colorado Department of Education recognized five District Two schools with awards this week following strong performance from each school on CMAS assessments.

Fox Meadow Middle School, Oak Creek Elementary, and Sand Creek Elementary all have earned the Center of Excellence Award.

The award recognizes public schools with an at-risk student enrollment of at least 75 percent which also demonstrate the highest rates of student longitudinal growth.

This is the second-consecutive year Sand Creek has earned the award.

Giberson Elementary received the Governor’s Distinguished Improvement Award for exceeding expectations on the state performance indicator related to academic growth.

Soaring Eagles Elementary is a recipient of the John Irwin Award, recognizing schools that demonstrate exceptional academic achievement over time, most notably in math, English language arts, and science.

Soaring Eagles also won this award last school year.