Return to Headlines

District and multiple schools receive awards from CDE

Harrison School District Two and several of its schools were recognized at a ceremony in March by the Colorado Department of Education for recent achievement.

The District earned the ELPA (English Language Proficiency Act) Excellence Award for achieving some of the highest English and academic growth among English learners in the state.

Harrison School District Two is one of ten Colorado school districts that will receive a portion of $500,000 in funding as part of the ELPA Excellence Award program.

Both Bricker and Sand Creek Elementary have received the Colorado Centers of Excellence Award, given to public schools with an at-risk student enrollment of at least 75 percent which also demonstrate the highest rates of student longitudinal growth.

Soaring Eagles and Wildflower Elementary both were recognized with the John Irwin Award for overall academic achievement, having exceeded expectations on a three-year framework used by the state to evaluate schools.

Soaring Eagles also was recognized for winning the National Blue Ribbon Award earlier this school year.

Two D2 schools also were recognized at the 2017 Colorado Healthy Schools Summit in February.

Both Turman and Sand Creek Elementary have been named a 2017 Healthy School Champion by a coalition of Colorado education organizations.

The annual awards recognize schools that create and support a healthy school environment and successfully implement effective school health efforts that support student learning.

Turman will receive the Excellence Award and a $500 grant, while Sand Creek will receive the Bronze Excellence Award and a $1,000 grant.

Only 46 Colorado schools were recognized with Healthy School Champion awards for 2017.